Get Inspired: 25 Quotes About Writing!

Whenever the question, “What are you naturally good at?” is asked, nothing else comes to mind asides writing, it actually hurts in some way to possess just that as a skill, most times, I put my brain to work and just try to figure out something else I’m good at. Yeah yeah, there are some others but writing stands out, at least for me. Apart from the love for words, journals, pen,and always writing things down there’s this “fulfilling” feeling that comes with it for me, which makes it stand out.

Amusingly, I know and I’ve been told I’m kind of good at it but I’ve never really considered myself “a writer “. Why? Maybe I’ve always thought I must have written a book or various published and unpublished articles (well, I wrote every article on this blog) before I could be tagged a writer. Somewhat weird?

Moving on. Some days ago, I thought to myself, there are quotes by various people attached to almost every aspect of life, there should be for writing and writers too, I searched on google and wasn’t really surprised to have seen a lot of results (of course, its Google), despite the fact that I hadn’t seen or read anything related to such. I hope that doesn’t make me clueless. Lol. Well, I found a lot of them relatable (which makes being called “a writer” kinda true), interesting and inspiring and I’ve decided to share 25 of them! I initially thought of presenting the quotes in the order of the ones I find relatable, inspiring and interesting but most of them are in two categories, so I resorted to arranging them in no particular order.

If you can tell stories, create characters, devise incidents and have sincerity and passion, it doesn’t matter a damn how you writeSomerset Maugham

Writing is easy. All you have to do is cross out the wrong wordsMark Twain

The true writer has nothing to say. What counts is the way he says itAlain Robbe-Grillet

A professional writer is an amateur who didn’t quitRichard Bach

Get your facts first, then you may distort them as you pleaseMark Twain

The first draft of anything is shitErnest Hemmingway

Everybody walks past a thousand story ideas every day. The good writers are the ones who see five or six of them. Most people don’t see any- Orson Scott

It is perfectly okay to write garbage-as long as you edit brilliantlyC.J Cheryh

It took me fifteen years to discover I had no talent of writing, but I couldn’t give it up because by that time I was too famousRobert Benchley

Any man who keeps working is not a failure. He may not be a great writer, but if he applies the old fashioned virtues of hard, constant labor, he’ll eventually make some kind of career of himself as a writer- Ray Bradbury

Most of the basic material a writer works with is acquired before the age of fifteenWilla Cather

Words are a lens to focus one’s mindAyn Rand

People on the outside think there is something magical about writing, that you go up in the attic at midnight and cast the bones and come down in the morning with a story, but it isn’t like that. You sit in the back of the typewriter and you work, and that’s all there is to it– Harlan Ellison

Don’t try to figure out what other people want to hear from you; figure out what you have to say. It’s the one and only thing you have to offerBarbara Kingsolver

All the words I use in my stories can be found in the dictionary- it’s just the matter of arranging them into the right sentencesSomerset Maugham

Exercise the right muscles every day, even if it’s only a letter, notes, a title list, a character sketch, a journal entry. Writers are like dancers, like athletes. Without that exercise, the muscles seize upJane Yolen

If the writing is honest, it cannot be separated from the man who wrote it– Tennesse Williams

Art is not about thinking something up. It is the opposite-getting something downJulia Cameron

All writing comes by the grace of GodRalph Waldo Emerson

I don’t think you get to good writing unless you expose yourself and your feelingsJudy Collins

Writing is utter solitude; the descent into the cold abyss of oneselfFranz Kafka

If I waited for perfection… I would never write a word– Margaret Atwood

Writing works better at cleaning up the mess than doing laundry or making beds– Linda Gray Sexton

And what, you ask, does writing teach us? First and foremost, it reminds us that we are alive and that it is a gift and a privilege, not a rightRay Bradbury

Being a good writer is 3% talent, 97% not being distracted by the internetAnonymous

I hope you had fun reading them, which is your favorite(s)? I have quite a number of favorites 🙂 but i find the last one really interesting.

P.S. You should read, 5 Challenges Most Young Writers Face, your comments are always welcome.

 

4 thoughts on “Get Inspired: 25 Quotes About Writing!

  1. I burst out laughing at the last one. Story of my life! My favorite on your list – ‘Get your facts first, then you may distort them as you please– Mark Twain’. Epic.

    And on having other talents, try new things. Most times our talents are discovered by accident, lol. Also don’t think that unless it’s something ‘arty’ (singing, dancing, painting, writing, etc) it’s not a talent. I have a friend who used to say he had no talent because he couldn’t do any of those. Turns out he’s a fantastic administrator.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Hi Oma!
      Yeah, I laughed too. That’s one of my favorites too.
      I’ve actually figured that out too, you’re very right. Thanks for reading and commenting 🙂

      Like

Share your thoughts, Please?

